Iraq: Al-Sudani cabinet received the confidence from the parliament

Friday 28 October 2022 - 08:48

ISWNews Analysis Group: Iraqi parliament gave its vote of confidence to a new cabinet on October 27 headed by Prime Minister Mohammed Shiaa al-Sudani.

On Thursday, Iraqi parliament members voted with an overwhelming majority of confidence in the government of Mohammad Shia Al-Sudani. In this meeting, Abdul Latif Rashid, the president of Iraq, Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert, the head of the UN mission in Iraq, Faiq Zeidan, the head of the Supreme Judicial Council of Iraq and some high-ranking officials of this country were present.

The approved ministers of the Al-Sudani cabinet are as follows:
1- Fuad Hussein, Minister of Foreign Affairs
2- Hayan Abdul Ghani, Minister of Oil
3- Mohammad Tamim, Minister of Planning
4- Taif Sami, Minister of Finance
5- Thabit Mohammad, Minister of Defense
6- Abdul Amir Al-Shimmery, Minister of Interior
7- Salih Mahdi, Minister of Health
8- Ivan Faiq, Minister of Immigration
9- Raazaq Mohaibis, Minister of Transport
10- Aoun Diab, Minister of Water Resources
11- Ahmed Al-Asadi, Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
12- Ahmad Al-Mubarka, Minister of Youth and Sports
13- Ibrahim Namis, Minister of Education
14- Athir Daowd Salman, Minister of Trade
15- Khaled Shawani, Minister of Justice
16- Ziad Ali Fazel, Minister of Electricity
17- Hoyam Abboud, Minister of Communications
18- Abbas Jabr, Minister of Agriculture
19- Na’im Al-Abboudi, Minister of Higher Education
20- Khalid Battal Najm, Minister of Industry
21- Ahmad Fakak Ahmad, Minister of Culture and Antiquities

Thursday’s Parliament session comes a year after an election in which the Shia cleric Moqtada Al-Sadr was the biggest winner, but failed to rally support to form a government. So, on October 13, 2022, the Iraqi parliament elected Abdul Latif Rashid as the new president of Iraq after consultation between the Shia, Kurdish and Sunni factions, and then Abdul Latif Rashid appointed Mohammad Shia al-Sudani as the prime minister of Iraq to form the new cabinet.

Read more: Abdul Latif Rashid elected as the new Iraq President

Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *