Map: Syrian Army is establishing 15 observation posts on the border with Turkey

Thursday, 24 October 2019 - 08:53

According to the Russian Ministry of Defense, the Syrian army will establish 15 new observation points at its border with Turkey in the eastern Euphrates to monitor the safe zone agreement in the area.

It should be noted that after the agreement between Turkey and Russia over the safe zone and the YPG’s withdrawal from the border areas, the Turkish Ministry of Defence said there is no further need to conduct a new operation in northeast Syria. However, it is not clear, whether this will be the case in Turkey’s occupied territories between Ras al-Ain and Tal Abiad, or Turkey’s operations in these areas will continue.
On the other hand, also the situation of the withdrawal of Kurdish forces from the safe zone is still unclear.

Click to see the full size map
Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *