Maps of Russia’s Observation Posts in Nagorno-Karabakh Released

Thursday 12 November 2020 - 10:21

ISWNews Analysis Group: The Russian Ministry of Defense has announced the establishment of 16 observation posts in the Nagorno-Karabakh region by publishing a map of observation posts and patrol routes of Russian peacekeepers in Nagorno-Karabakh.

The peacekeepers, including Russian military police, are currently stationed in the Lachin corridor.

According to information provided by the Russian Ministry of Defense, 1960 Russian peacekeepers will be stationed in Nagorno-Karabakh and their main tasks include:
– Collecting information on ceasefire violations and communicating this information to the command of the peacekeepers
– Maintaining the safety of free transit and transport
– Suppression of illegal actions against the civilian population

There will also be 16 observation posts in the Nagorno-Karabakh region to monitor the implementation of the Karabakh peace agreement. The map below shows the location of these 16 observation posts in the Karabakh area. The Red Triangles are the site of Russian observation posts and red dotted are the main patrol areas for Russian peacekeepers.

Location of Russian observation posts in Nagorno-Karabakh

The map below shows the Lachin corridor. The red triangles of the Russian temporary posts are shown, the black dashes shows the Lachin corridor area.

Map of Lachin corridor

According to maps published by the Russian Ministry of Defense, the Russian zones of responsibility are divided into northern and southern parts, and the map below shows Russia’s operational area and observation posts in the southern part.

Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *